Team

Photo by Laura Wiesböck

Dr.in Laura Wiesböck

holds a PhD in sociology and works as a senior researcher at the Institute for Advanced Studies. She has been researching social inequality for over ten years, particularly in the areas of gender, poverty and work. The sociologist has received numerous awards for her academic work, including the Theodor Körner Prize and the Käthe Leichter Prize for Gender Studies. Laura Wiesböck excels at combining science, knowledge dissemination and social engagement. In addition to her research activities, she communicates socio-critical perspectives in the media (e.g. Associated Press, Die ZEIT), gives expert lectures in public institutions (e.g. Austrian Parliament, Tanzquartier Vienna), and advocates for a life free of violence for women*.


Ekaterina Osipova, MA

is a PhD student in the Human Computer Interaction Group at TU Wien and works as a researcher at the Institute for Advanced Studies. As a transdisciplinary researcher, Ekaterina is always on the lookout for new, accessible approaches to knowledge production in order to highlight marginalized life realities and perspectives. Ekaterina's research interests include gender and sexuality, understandings of health and the body, and critical design. Ekaterina completed a master's degree in science and technology studies.


Photo by Ella O'Connor

Ella O'Connor, BSc

is a bachelor's student studying sociology and works as a student assistant at the Institute for Advanced Studies. Previously, she completed a bachelor's degree in psychology with a minor in political science. Ella enjoys working at the intersection of academia, policy, and practice. She has worked on issues of democracy and equality in a variety of contexts, including political education work and within a city agency. For example, she gave workshops for youth on anti-discrimination and contributed to a plan to improve queer living conditions in Nuremberg. Personally, Ella is interested in different forms and practices of collective living together.


Advisory Expert

Photo by Karin Schönpflug

Dr.in Karin Schönpflug

holds a PhD in economics and works as a senior researcher at the Institute for Advanced Studies Vienna. At the center of her long-standing research and teaching activities, this proven expert on LGBTIQ+ issues focuses on transdisciplinary perspectives on queer issues. The recipient of the Käthe Leichter Prize for Gender Studies, she has been involved in a number of important research projects on the situation of LGBTIQ+ persons in Vienna, including the study "Queer in Vienna" or the project "Urban sexual geographies, queer citizenship and the socio-economic status of LGBTIQs in Vienna". Karin Schönpflug supports the research project QUEERDEM in an advisory capacity.

Team

Foto von Laura Wiesböck

Dr.in Laura Wiesböck

ist promovierte Soziologin und arbeitet als Senior Researcherin am Institut für Höhere Studien. Sie forscht seit über zehn Jahren zu sozialer Ungleichheit, insbesondere im Bereich Geschlecht, Armut und Arbeit. Für ihre akademische Arbeit wurde die Soziologin vielfach ausgezeichnet, u.a. mit dem Theodor Körner Preis und dem Käthe Leichter Preis für Geschlechterforschung. Laura Wiesböck zeichnet sich durch die Verknüpfung von Wissenschaft, Wissensverbreitung und sozialem Engagement aus. Neben ihrer Forschungstätigkeit kommuniziert sie gesellschaftskritische Perspektiven in Medien (z.B. Associated Press, Die ZEIT), hält Fachvorträge in öffentlichen Einrichtungen (z.B. österreichisches Parlament, Tanzquartier Wien) und setzt sich für ein gewaltfreies Leben von Frauen* ein.


Ekaterina Osipova, MA

ist Dissertant*in in der Human Computer Interaction Group der TU Wien und arbeitet als Researcher am Institut für Höhere Studien. Als transdisziplinäre*r Wissenschaftler*in ist Ekaterina stets auf der Suche nach neuen, zugänglichen Ansätzen der Wissensproduktion um marginalisierte Lebensrealitäten und Perspektiven hervorzuheben. Ekaterinas Forschungsinteressen umfassen Gender und Sexualität, Verständnisse von Gesundheit und Körper und kritisches Design. Ekaterina absolvierte den Master in Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung.


Foto von Ella O’Connor

Ella O’Connor, BSc

studiert im Bachelor Soziologie und arbeitet als studentische Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Höhere Studien. Zuvor hat sie einen Bachelor in Psychologie mit Nebenfach Politikwissenschaft abgeschlossen. Ella arbeitet mit Vorliebe an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Politik und Praxis. Sie hat sich in vielfältigen Kontexten mit den Themen Demokratie und Gleichstellung auseinandergesetzt, unter anderem in der politischen Bildungsarbeit und innerhalb einer städtischen Behörde. So gab sie Workshops für Jugendliche zum Thema Anti-Diskriminierung und wirkte an einem Plan zur Verbesserung queerer Lebensbedingungen in Nürnberg mit. Persönlich interessiert Ella sich für unterschiedliche Formen und Praktiken kollektiven Zusammenlebens.


Advisory Expert

Foto von Karin Schönpflug

Dr.in Karin Schönpflug

ist promovierte Ökonomin und arbeitet als Senior Researcherin am Institut für Höhere Studien Wien. Im Zentrum der langjährigen Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeiten der ausgewiesenen Fachexpertin für LGBTIQ+ Themen stehen transdisziplinäre Perspektiven auf queere Fragestellungen. Die mit dem Käthe Leichter Preis für Geschlechterforschung ausgezeichnete Wissenschaftlerin war an einer Reihe von wichtigen Forschungsprojekten zur Situation von LGBTIQ+ Personen in Wien beteiligt, u.a. der Studie „Queer in Wien“ oder dem Projekt „Urban sexual geographies, queer citizenship and the socio-economic status of LGBTIQs in Vienna“. Karin Schönpflug unterstützt das Forschungsprojekt QUEERDEM in einer beratenden Funktion.